Australian Politicians Condemn Israel over Gaza

TPQ carried a letter signed by a number of Australian politicians on 25 July 2014

We the undersigned members of Australian federal and state parliaments, call on all Australian politicians to condemn the ongoing Israeli military bombardment and invasion of Gaza.

We call on Australian politicians to support an immediate cessation of hostilities and a ceasefire deal which includes an end to Israel's occupation of the Palestinian territories and to the blockade of Gaza.

We call on all Australian politicians to also support the United Nations Human Rights Council's decision to launch an independent inquiry into purported violations of international humanitarian and human rights laws in the Occupied Palestinian Territory, including East Jerusalem.

Over 1200* Palestinians in Gaza have been killed, since Israel started its military attack on Gaza three weeks ago. The United Nations says at least 75 percent of the dead are civilians, including an estimated 168 children. In the last two days, Palestinian children have been killed at a rate of one per hour.

The rockets fired from Gaza are not in any way justified and insofar as they threaten and harm civilians are illegal under international law. However, these imprecise rockets cannot be compared with the broad-scale bombing of Gaza by Israel which has one of the world's largest military forces.

Collective punishment is not permitted under the Geneva conventions and is a war crime.

Hospitals, places of worship, and a centre for people with disabilities have been among the Israeli military's targets.

The United Nations Relief and Works Agency (UNRWA) is providing shelter to more than 102,788 Palestinians in the Gaza Strip.

The international community including Australia has a vital responsibility to put pressure on Israel to end its current military attack on Gaza and broker a solution of justice and peace.

*updated 30 July 2014

Signed by -
1. Maria Vamvakinou MP, Labor
2. Melissa Parke MP, Labor
3. Laurie Ferguson MP, Labor
4. Alan Griffin MP, Labor
5. Sharon Claydon MP, Labor
6. Adam Bandt MP, Greens
7. Barbara Perry MP, Labor
8. Andrew Giles MP, Labor
9. Paul Lynch MP, Labor
10. Jamie Parker MP, Greens
11. Lynda Voltz MLC, Labor
12. Shaoquett Moselmane MLC, Labor
13. David Shoebridge MLC, Greens
14. Dr Mehreen Faruqi MLC, Greens
15. Dr John Kaye MLC, Greens
16. Jeremy Buckingham MLC, Greens
17. Jan Barham MLC, Greens
18. Senator Claire Moore, Labor
19. Senator Nick Xenophon, Independent
20. Senator Christine Milne, Greens
21. Senator Lee Rhiannon, Greens
22. Senator Sarah Hanson-Young, Greens
23. Senator Larissa Waters, Greens
24. Senator Janet Rice, Greens
25. Senator Richard Di Natale, Greens
26. Senator Penny Wright, Greens
27. Senator Rachel Siewert, Greens
28. Senator Scott Ludlam, Greens
29. Senator Peter Whish-Wilson, Greens
30. Senator Sue Lines, Labor
31. Tammy Franks MLC, Greens
32. Graham Perrett MP, Labor
33. Senator Anne Urquhart, Labor
34. Terri Butler MP, Labor
35. Julie Owens MP, Labor
36. Lisa Chesters MP, Labor
37. Senator Gavin Marshall, Labor
38. Senator Anne McEwen , Labor
39. Senator Carol Brown, Labor
40. Senator Doug Cameron, Labor
41. Cassy O'Connor MLA, Greens
42. Senator Jan McLucas, Labor
43. Lynn MacLaren MLC, Greens
44. Jill Hall MP, Labor
45. Jackie Trad MP, Labor
46. Malcolm Fraser, former Liberal Prime Minister
47. Shane Rattenbury MLA, Greens
48. Yvette Berry MLA, Labor
49. Bronwyn Halfpenny MP, Labor
50. Tony Piccolo MP, Labor
51. Andrew Wilkie MP, Independent
52. Senator Lisa Singh, Labor
53. Khalil Eideh MP, Labor
54. Lee Tarlamis MP, Labor
55. Johan Scheffer MP, Labor

Any Australian politician who would like to add their name to this letter may contact the office of Melissa Parke or Senator Lee Rhiannon: or senator.rhiannon@ap


1 comment:

  1. Is it a coincidence that we cannot see any Liberal or National MP, except for the former brave prime minister Malcolm Frazer. Or probably the MP's would not dare to criticise Israel while in government!!!